Dream House (Movie Review)

[credit: Wikipedia.com]

[credit: Wikipedia.com]

So dream house is a 2011 film coined as a “psycological thriller” starring Daniel Craig and Naomi Watts.

Quick Summary: Will leaves his well to-do job and moves his wife and two daughters out of the big city into a small town. The home seems like everything they dreamed of, a bit of a fixer upper with plenty of charm. His wife paints on the walls to give them a unique feelings, his daughters play happily and even discover a small hidden playroom behind their closet. Everything seems perfect. Until hearing whispers in the town and in the neighborhood about something that went on in the house before they moved in. The previous occupants were involved in a brutal murder, the whole family was killed, and the culprit is in a mental institution not far from the house. No one in town seems to want to talk about it straight out, and soon strange and disturbing things begin to manifest within the home.

I had high expectations for this film, expecting a nice level of creepiness & suspense, trying to solve the mystery of the house and murders, etc. In the end, though the acting was alright and the music score was nice, I as left wanting a bit more.

[Warning! Possible Spoilers Ahead.]

There was a certain level of creepiness in the beginning of the film as it laid down the ground work and introduced the characters of the story. Yet, after you really begin to learn about the murders and the house, it takes on (in my opinion) less of a psychological thriller aspect and becomes more of a serious drama. I ended up being more sad and feeling empathy for characters then jazzed up about the back story and the mysteries happening. Nothing to do with the acting, because as I said it was done really well, it was the story and plot line that made it fall short for what I was expecting from what it was portraying.

I also found the mysteries behind everything too easy to solve. I had near the entire twists and back story figured out before the half mark of the film, and only got confirmation as the story went on. Perhaps I have just seen too many stories of the same style, but I was expecting a little more. Something a little more surprising or deeper maybe. Also, I thought the ending was a touch weak. Sure it wrapped everything up in a nice little bow, but I found it a bit unrealistic in relation to Daniel’s character. It also came of as way too cheesy for me as well, and overly cliche sadly.

[End Possible Spoilers]

The acting was good, not fabulous, but still good. It was nice to see Daniel Craig in something other than action, and I liked how Naomi’s character actually made sense as a worried mother and wife. The strange neighbor across the street who avoids the house and its occupants I have mixed feelings about, she just doesn’t quiet seem rounded enough even though she is actually an important character in the story. I am judging this all though on a drama sense. As for thriller, well I just can’t judge the acting on thriller. I will say though bravo to the child actresses, because I thought they did a bang up job in the serious and sadder scenes. 

If I had gone into this movie as a more mystery drama, then I may not have found it quite as disappointing. Though some of the ending flaws I mentioned above would still lower its rating for me. If you watch the movie as a mystery drama, enjoy the acting and music, because the over all story could use a little more love then it has to give. Sorry for the shorter review, my heart just doesn’t seem into it today.

Overall I would have to give this a 6/10 as a drama, but a 4/10 as a thriller.

Leave a Reply

