Black Creek Crossing by: John Saul

Quick Summary:

Angel Sullivan is a thirteen year old girl who is excited when she and her family move into an older home in Roundtree, Massachusetts. However, her excitement is soon quelled as she is soon socially alienated at school, but is saved from depression upon meeting Seth-a teen outcast like herself. Together they bond a friendship, where Angel learns that her house has many dark tales tied to it that the town refuses to speak about. As the two teens try to unravel the mystery-strange and dangerous changes begin to happen to Angel’s happy family, as well some something sinister lurking not only within the walls of her home-but out in the town itself.

I really enjoyed this book and could not put it down. I even made my mother read it, where we shortly adopted an abandoned kitten and named him after the strange cat in the book. That’s how much I liked this-I named my crazy cat after a feline character.

The story starts off a bit slow, but in a good way, laying down the groundwork of the characters and opening up what Roundtree is as a town and a community. I found it slightly unrealistic that Angel was so quickly shunned and bullied at school, but that may be due to my own upbringing and experiences with such things. Beyond that however, I enjoyed this novel a lot. It’s got a wonderful blend of horror and mystery, which twists the stomach a bit (at least for me) because the majority of time is spent with the young teenagers. Young people and horror always make me a bit uneasy because mentally (and socially) the youth are to be protected and not involved with creepy horror things. Which makes this book wonderful, any horror is wonderful if it makes you uncomfortable.

The mysterious of the house and what is tied to it are again, slowly brought to light so as the reader you are kept guessing at exactly what it is and why is it doing what it is doing. A few of the secondary characters were a bit boring and fell sort of flat, but the main characters easily made up for that. The ending felt a little rushed to me, and maybe could have been done differently to make it feel more satisfying.

*SPOILER ALERT*

I also didn’t quite like how they portrayed the witches in this story. It’s a little overdone of witches-or those accused of being so-pulling spells of violence and vengeance out against those who wronged them. I always get slightly irked because I know some Pagans since I was a little girl, and how many people today still see them as such things. Though I always try and separate the story witches and real witches. That whole thing aside-I just feel that this type of ‘enemy’ or ‘catalyst’ is over done. Much like how vampires are all now these distraught attractive beings that really only want to cuddle (and drink your blood). If they had some kind of new twist on the witches, or maybe a different source behind it, I would have felt it would be more creepy or at least interesting. That section though was a little dull since-as I said-it has been so overdone.

*END SPOILER*

Overall I give this book a good thumbs up. It seems to be geared towards maybe a YA audience, but it still has enough in it to hold many adult audiences too, if you don’t mind a story taking its time to unravel-with a few cliches thrown in.

Leave a Reply

