The Book Blogger Test~

This was on my little feed of people I follow, specifically I borrowed this from Jodi’s page, who in turn got it from Brin’s page. Hope she doesn’t mind! Since I do blog books and I don’t tend to share personal things on my blog, I thought it could be a fun thing to shake things up a bit. So without further ado~

 

What are your top three book pet hates?

1) I really dislike novels that are all about the female protagonist being helpless and pretty much useless, needing to be saved. To say the least, Harlequinn novels are just not my thing, because so many of them have this theme. Nora Roberts is probably my #1 romance novelist because she has competent and strong female protagonists. Not to say some of the don’t need help being saved or what not, but they have actual personalities and well…try to at least help themselves. Bella from Twilight falls into this category as well.

2) When I’m really into a book (or series) and get the the last few chapters (or last book) and it kind of feels like the end is miss-mashed together without any real effort to tie it up. One example of this is the last book in the Abarat series. I loved the first two books, and when the third came out, I felt that the author just didn’t know how to end the series. It seemed wishy-washy, incomplete, and without the normal flow and verse of the rest of the book-and series. The end of the Harry Potter series felt this way a bit too. Like she just needed an ending and put one there. Leaves me feeling unsatisfied with nothing more to look towards.

3) When I find a title that sounds interesting, yet I can’t locate a description of the book. Most commonly it’s on the back of the cover, which is convenient. Sometimes it is inside the jacket in the front, which isn’t too bad. Or a few pages in you’ll see a small description. Yet (maybe it’s just me) there have been numerous times where I just cannot locate where it says what this book is about. It shouldn’t be so difficult to find. If I can’t locate it in under two minutes, I put the book away. I’m not a patient person when it comes to things like that. Heck, sometimes if it’s in the third location I get annoyed because I feel it’s ill placed.

 

Describe your perfect reading spot.

Either a nice comfy chair by a big window to bask in filtered sunlight, or outside beneath a tree or porch on a nice cushion. I love reading in/by natural sunlight. I’m just too sensitive in the skin to read directly in it sadly.

 

Tell us three book confessions.

1) I waited in line for the midnight release for almost every Harry Potter book. My parents reluctantly took me because I was so into the series at the time. Well, I was in the target audience. I’d then stay up all night reading them trying to keep up with my goal-finishing the book under 24 hours. Mission accomplished each time if I may say so with a little bit of pride.

2) I’m a sucker for intellectual romances. I’m not really much of a ‘girly-girl’ when it comes to books, but curling up with a story about two people who share each others emotions and intellectual banter, you’ll see me get a little sniffly and hold the book to my chest with a sigh. Which usually gets an eye roll from my fiance-he just doesn’t get it. It’s my sneaky treat, a glass of wine and sizzling snarky romance. It just seems more realistic-is that counter productive in a fiction novel haha?

3) I love watching Sci-fi, and playing Sci-fi games, but most Sci-fi books bore me to death. I try getting into them, my father and fiance love them, yet more often then not I put it down never to be picked up again. There area a few that have pulled me through them with interest. Yet more often then not, I yawn, shake my head, and go to find a good fantasy or horror to read.

 

When was the last time you cried during a book?

I don’t really cry when I read a book that gets me emotional. I may get a little glaze in the eyes, but nothing ever falls. At least, not since my pubescent years. Might have cried a few times then–darn hormones. The last time I actually felt sad or water eye emotional during a book was so long ago I can’t really recall! I’m sure it’s happened in the last year though.

 

 How many books are on your bedside table?

Um…only four. Not including a dream diary. I don’t have a very big beside table, but currently all of my book cases are in my bedroom. So often I take a book or two to bed, and leave it there to be continued. And then another…

 

What is your favorite snack to eat while you’re reading?

You know, I don’t really eat when I’m reading. If it’s a book I’m really into, I don’t do anything but read (I zone out really bad sometimes and ignore everyone around me, eek.) If I am eating something, it’s small finger food like pretzels or green grapes.

 

Name three books you would recommend to everyone.

1) Illusions by Richard Bach

2) Finding Alice by Melody Carson

3) [Insert your favorite book here] because really, I’ve read so many books it’s hard to suggest one that’s good for everyone.

 

Write how much books mean to you in just three words?

Inspirational imaginative escapism.

 

What is your biggest reading secret?

As a young teenager I used to write in the margins of my book pages on my thoughts and reactions to what was going on. Not in all books, just some of my favorites. My hope was if my sister or another family member who I wasn’t with at the time was reading it, it would be like we were reading it together. Or if it was donated, someone else could see what another person thought of the book.

2 thoughts on “The Book Blogger Test~

Leave a Reply

